Friday, January 13, 2006

For the Love of GOD

I have a couple of freinds that I love dearly, this is not directed at you. Although i will admit you and a few others have contributed to pravoking me to vent here. You know who you are... lol.. we have agreed to disagree on this subject,so I hope nobody gets upset. I wish if any of you read this you will give some thought to a different point of view without getting offended or taking things personally...Then again, you know what they say, "if the shoe fits....."

I cant for the life of me figure out why people who seem to have completely turned their backs on God and religion except for when the situation arrises where they need divine intervention, are constantly telling others how to practice their own faith. If you are raised in a certain faith and you havent practiced it lately and have decided not to follow it anymore, or you have totally changed religions,(such as a christian turned muslim or muslim turned jewish and so on) please be considerate of those who are at least trying to practice their choice of religion..I mean if you have lost your faith, dont be angry if others havent. If you dont have enough faith to do anything but bitch about how people around you practice their own faiths, who's fault is that? Gods?? He gives each of us the same opportunity to experience his grace. It is how we embrace it that changes our lives. And so what if we ask forgiveness and go out and sin again, it is known that we will do that. If you think you are or have ever been without sin you are mistaken. Who is to say that it is wrong to practice a religion even though you are a sinner. Everyone is a sinner. There again if you have faith you will know that you are forgiven. Thats not to say go crazy sin away.. it is just that it seems better to me to add some religous practice to your sinful life, than to just live a sinful life without any religion or faith in god and his mercy. And if you are angry at God or at life in general, please try not to make those sinners who repent on Sundays (or Saturday Afternoon) feel as if they are doing something wrong. No one will ever be perfect. It isnt about being perfect or living a perfect life, Its about making an attempt at it.The way i see if if you are angry and you refuse God in your life you have no right to say how a somebody else should choose to work faith into their lives. And also I am aware that you dont have to go to church to worship, but what is wrong with it?..and just because you dont go to a church doesnt mean you dont worship, some people say they dont need to go to church to worship, they say they are believers, but they are also sinners wheather or not they admit it, so why is it that the same sinner who never attends a church is always the first to say you cant go to church and ask forgiveness and then go out and sin again.. so does that mean if you ask forgiveness on the back yard patio you can go out and sin again?? or you can judge others for their religous practices simply because they are different than yours? If someone elses beliefs are different than yours, how can you be sure that you understand their religion enough to tell them how they should be practicing it?
I do realize that i am a easy target for this kind of judgement, because i am new to religous practice, and i am no angel,far from it, even though I do attend church every week. Its hard for some people to accept that I am on a spritual journey and I just because I have not reached my destination doesnt mean I intend to end my travel.
I guess what i want to say a bit more briefly is, if you have lost your faith, either try to find it, or dont, but please stop bringing down the ones of us who have recently found some. Sometimes it is the only thing thats gets me through the day. Shouldnt you be happy that a person you care for has found some religous guideance?
Okay got that out of my system... I feel better now.. Love yall.

4 Comments:

Blogger Erin said...

First, thanks for commenting on my blog!! And now, I will be the first to say I'm happy that you are finding God in your life. I'm not an expert (as you said, far from it) but I know that I am happier because I know God. From time to time I come across people who can't understand why I am Christian or whatever and I have met people who tell me that they can't even understand why I would put faith in God, etc. But these are also, unfortunately usually but not always, unhappy people themselves!! I can't explain it but can only tell you to completely keep up building up your own faith! Very frustrating topic! Always nice to meet new bloggers though! Hope you have a good weekend!

8:29 PM  
Blogger Char said...

And being one of those friends that you're talking about I figured I could comment…

Here you said
"Quote"
...please be considerate of those who are at least trying to practice their choice of religion..
"Unquote"

My comment:


How about having the same consideration for us? Don't preach to us, don't tell us we're wrong (you don't know we are... and neither do we really), stop looking down on us like you're better... you're not better.. you just think differently. Don't ask me why I choose to lead the life I do. And if you do ask and I give you an answer don't tell me (either literally or around the bush) that it's not a good enough reason. You don't know me well enough to make a determination on my eternal life. Don't ask me to go to church, don't ask me to comment on my or your religion. If you should choose to talk about your religion then you can’t get upset when we respond. Remember now, we don’t have your way of thinking so you might not like what we have to say.

As you said we’ve agreed to disagree and that’s what makes this so wonderful. The one good thing about what I said is that a lot of that I could say to people who look down on me because of my weight, my sexual orientation, or even the color of my skin. If this ole’ world would just work it out like we have to agree to disagree it would so be a better place to live.

10:03 PM  
Blogger shannon said...

Char I never looked down on you,nor do i think i am better than anybody, I really hope you are referring to some one else about this.

10:51 PM  
Blogger Char said...

i know you dont. it's just a generalization.. not meant towards any one person. :)

12:52 AM  

Post a Comment

<< Home