So the other day I go into this Middle-Eastern restaraunt/market to get a few items i became familiar with in my associations with many middle eastern people, mainly my Palistinean boyfriend of 5 years and my Egyptian husband of 2 , give or take a few months.Thats a whole other story,maybe some day i will tell you about that.But for now back to my story.
I go into the store to get fava beans, lemons, homemade arabic flatbread to make this dish called foule (fool)..As I gather my things and go to the front to pay the clerk, who is clearly of middle eastern descent, walks over to the register and rings me up. I give him my bank card which was much to my surprise declined. Hmmm..okay so he tries it again , at my request, again, declined..Okay. There is a problem. I call the bank, which i had called earlier that day with a concern that a charge showed up on my account's online statement that i didnt recall making nor did i recognize the name of the company.Long story short, the bank cancel the use of that debit card, but my mom has another one with a different number, same account, and the bank told me that only the one card was canceled, I really wanted to eat some foul. I leave my goods at the counter in the bag and go less than one block to her house to get the other card. She offered me cash, just in case it didnt work either. I declined "it will work" i said..So its freezing outside and my car has no heat, but i've come this far so i go back into the store and start to pay the card my mom had given me, declined too, at this point i was really pissed at the bank, but this guy is probably thinking, this girl has no money, anywhere...so i give him another card which i know had absoutly NO money in it, and its APPROVED, what the hell is going on in the banking business ?? anyway then i remember Arabic sweets, boklava, and the little honey and nut birdnest of filo dough..I ask the clerk, can i get some boklava from resturant and pay for it over here? He's like "Yeah go ahead, I can wait." so i go to the resturant area to get boklava.It took a little while longer than it should, because the guy working over there was chatty. I am a middle-eastern man magnet, by the way, anyway, I return to to the store area again to pay for my stuff, he was at this time having what seemed for the most part a friendly conversation with another more aquainted customer.As I approached the counter he says something to the other guy and walks over to the counter again to check me out...He starts again with me as i am thinking about what he said , i am like, I have to say something, this guy just said " Let me go now and get this girl out of my ass." in arabic. I couldnt believe my ears, this guy has taken for granted that i dont understand his language..But surprise, I do!! So I asked him, "what exactly did you say to that guy a second ago in Arabic? " He says "Oh we were talking about bringing in a whole lamb or goat (to the butcher in the back) I dont like to see it when they cut it up, it makes me sick and sad" and he was acting all like a baby about it..I was just thinking to myself, how is it that this Palestinean guy has probably seen more violence than most people anywhere in the world cant stand to see a dead goat cut up? So I say " Yeah right". and smile. He says to me " You can understand Arabic?" knowing i must or i couldnt despute the answer he had given me. I said, "Well yeah some" ."mostly only the bad words" then he says" how do you know Arabic?" I say" I spent some time in Egypt" he says " they dont use bad words in Egypt." My reply was his second surprise. " I was with a Palastinean man for 5 years, he used alot of bad words" i said with a grin. His face must have turned 5 shades of red by now..So as he's getting my sweets in the bag, and forgetting my other bag from behind the counter i was getting my things in my purse, saying" now let me get out of your way.." he says" oh no its okay" I say, " No, No i have been right up your ass for long enough," in a way that he couldnt be sure if i was joking or just being sarcastic, or .. if he was so busted...the look on his face was priceless.... I swear he said these words to me..." No problem, I enjoyed it" I was about to spew out trying to hold back the laughter.. i composed myself and walked to the door,and said "shukran" which is thank you in Arabic. Even still he tested me once more.. "what do you say when you are leaving somebody in Arabic?" I said " Esalam ElaKom" and smiled as he said "wahalakom salam." I left the store.. so mad at that guy for being so nieve and then totally denying the whole thing..I own a salon and there are days where certain people get on my nerves , i dont want to do them, or deal with them, i want to "get them out of my ass" too, but i cant say that. I have to treat them with respect, I cant think,well if I can say it in a language they may not understand it is acceptable. After all the man he was speaking to heard him say a remark that he shouldnt even have heard as a customer,however in this situation there could be a bit of cultural differences too, as that the respect for men is higher than for women in most middle eastern cultures.But there again that is another story I could write. For now though, I wanted so bad to go back and tell him straight forward that I knew what he had said, but after some thought and I have heard from a few other bilingual people that it can be quite humiliating to talk about somebody thinking they dont understand you when they do. I have a feeling this is a mistake this guy wont soon make again.